Same-sex couple is to celebrate the wedding everywhere they can


Fleur Pierets and Julian P. Boom are planning a wedding. Nothing is unusual, you may say. But the thing is that there is not only one wedding planned. The couple is going to travel across the world and have a wedding in every country where it is not legally forbidden for them. The project, planned to start next month in New York and to last 1.5 years, was initially named ‘Project 22’ because there were 22 countries having same-sex marriages legally recognized. But if to consider the latest changes, the travelers need to add Malta and Germany to their travel plan and to rename the journey into ‘Project 24’. They admit it and said that 22 is a symbolic name. They understand that the world is moving to equality and they want it. They are ready to add as many countries to the list as possible. How many of them would b in the end? 25? 30? 60? No one knows, but they will visit each and every one. “22 is an art project that speaks of evolution and optimism. A time capsule that instantly refers to the possibility of change. That captures the zeitgeist of a world in the midst of change when it comes to gender equality and human rights. 22 celebrates the places that legalised gay marriage, and highlights the work that still needs to be done in the 170 countries that don’t. At the current rate we will reach global recognition of same-sex marriage in the year 2142. That’s 125 years from now so let’s see if they can get it to go a bit faster,” they say, “Fascinated by gender, identity and community, our research-based practice functions as a mirror in which viewers can confront themselves with ideologies or beliefs. We are working towards cultural awareness when it comes to gender equality and gay imagery in mainstream art history. At the end of the performance, an art/video installation will be exhibited. As a performance piece, we are getting married in: Argentina, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Luxembourg, Malta, Mexico, The Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Spain, South Africa, Sweden, United Kingdom, United States & Uruguay.”


Login with: 
Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here