UK signs trade deal with 3 countries where it is illegal to be gay


Brexit supporters have made much of the UK’s ability to enter trade deals following its departure from the European Union, European Single Market and Customs Union. So, traveling to South Africa the British PM Theresa May has made an announcement about a new pro-Brexit trade deal she is going to sign. The deal is with six countries across the south of Africa – Botswana, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa and Swaziland. Of the six countries, three – Botswana, Namibia and Swaziland – criminalize homosexuality, and only one — South Africa — legally protects the members of the LGBT community from being discriminated against by sexuality. Gay sex is punishable by seven years of imprisonment in Botswana, while Namibia and Swaziland continue to have sodomy laws on the books. By contrast, states must respect LGBT+ human rights as a condition of EU or Single Market membership, meaning it is legal to be gay in all 28 EU states, and all 28 have anti-discrimination laws concerning sexual orientation.


Login with: 
Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here