Parliament report demands marriage equality to be extended to Overseas territories


Although equal marriage was legalized in England and Wales in 2013, and Scotland in 2014, the laws did not automatically extend to Bermuda, Gibraltar and Falkland Islands. Nine of the fourteen territories have since adopted marriage rights to gay couples, but five—Anguilla, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Montserrat and Turks and Caicos Islands—have not done so. Seeking to address the inequality, the foreign affairs select committee asked the elected leaders of the five remaining territories whether they considered approving same-sex marriages, they did not consider it, so it was decided to apply to the UK government with a demand to intervene. The influential committee, chaired by Tory MP Tom Tugendhat, said that the British government is mostly vocally pro-LGBT, but in this case words are not enough. The report suggests that the government should “set a date” for the remaining territories to have legalized same-sex marriage, after which time “the Government should intervene through legislation.”


Login with: 
Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here